Individual own data

by

I picked up last year that Tantek was using his personal website to author all his data from.  He is a champion of ‘fighting for the user’ but my initial take on this was that I need an ultra smart authoring tool to cater for all those publishing activities I can perform today and more and more tomorrow.  However, use third party tools then the data is then ‘owned’ by that service.  However, for some you will need to use local tools to get the data to the service e.g. hardware, camera and local uploading tool to get it to e.g. flickr.com   so I will have a local copy (my pc, Sony, local software microsoft and online yahoo flickr) so I need lots of local tools to get to the online service that now ‘owns’ my data!  This is a fascinating tension and a couple of blog post give th arguments, Decentralized tools and self aggregate, Zeldman and Tanteks, self publish and copy everywhere.

A conference is coming up in June this year, the IndieWeb unconference in Portland, USA for those fighting for individuals to own their data.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Individual own data”

  1. youtube.com Says:

    I seldom drop comments, but i did some searching and wound up here Individual
    own data « mepath lifestyle linking. And I actually do have a couple of questions for
    you if you do not mind. Is it simply me or does it look like a
    few of these responses appear like they are left by brain
    dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing at other online
    social sites, I would like to keep up with everything new
    you have to post. Would you make a list of every one of all your communal pages like your twitter feed, Facebook
    page or linkedin profile?

  2. hortensemccarty431 Says:

    […] « Set ValueToCompare at run time Amu00e9lioration XxxxxxSearch – u00e9tape 2 » […] Click http://www.l33turl.com/dukcc091745

Leave a comment